Choice of 10M Antenna Support for SOTA

I am a new SOTA operator, and am trying to choose an antenna support, since I hear you need an antenna for this :))

Choices I’m looking at now are
sotabeam travel mast $60

and the allfishingbuy carbon super hard 28 ft $107

The sotabeam weight 3 times as much at 2.9 lbs

Anyone experiences with these? I’m not expecting to be in blizzard or real exposure, but there can be wind. Would prefer easiest setup. Assume the sotabeam would be quite a bit more stable. I do want to break down to shortest lenght (e.g. Shakespeare pole out for me, only $30, but only breaks down to 4 ft).

Ideas?
Thanks
Wayne
W6AHH

If you’re staying at/below the treeline… just use the trees… even a very low Dipole will work…
Above the treeline work… go with the shortest packed length and don’t take the thinner pieces… saves weight and saves them from getting broken…

Good luck.

Hi Wayne,
If you are considering buying from Europe (shipping can be a problem/expense), take a look at the DX-Wire offerings as well. I have the 10m mini-mast and as it packs so small shipping should be less of a problem to the US as some of the larger masts.

My advice however is always if you’re just starting activating, use whatever you have (or can borrow) for your first couple of activations and you can then see what you really need. By the way on a summit even a 5-6m mast will perform quite well and is easier to erect. I rarely am able (or need) to use my 10m mast at full height.

Ed.

I quote from the Allfishingbuy’s website “28ft Super Hard Fishing Pole made of Carbon”.
I wouldn’t consider a conductive carbon or carbon fibre mast. It will restrict your choice of aerials e.g. a verttical made from wire taped up the side of the mast would be a no no!
Ken GM0AXY

Thanks- yes I guess just use trees except if there aren’t any. I have read that some some folks use a carbon pole to “push” the wire over a tree limb, instead of tossing weights, slingshots, etc.