Activation report: Creag Gharbh SS-099

The full report will follow. But for now some pictures are on the flickr group. The light was weird and the pictures are all a bit grey. There was lovely sun of course, but not when there was anything worth photographing!

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to MM0FMF:
Lovely atmospheric pics, Andy!

Brian G8ADD

Great photo’s Andy, a great days walking!
Frank

Thanks for the comments on the photos. A friend was up that area on Saturday and the sun was out, his photos were much nicer.

OK. Creag Gharbh was another unactivated hill on the South side of Loch Tay. I can only surmise that with the North side offering many 8 and 10 point hills, the lowly 2 and 4 pointers have been left for lardy lumps like me! Actually I had kept this one back as a “suitable for when there’s lots of snow”. I’m not experienced enough to go much higher and I don’t (yet) have crampons.

I missed the road driving in and as soon as things felt wrong I stopped where a bloke was standing at a Land Rover. As I drew up he turned round holding the biggest rifle I’ve ever seen! He was out for deer with his mate who was still in the forest. Having put me right for the Hydro road he said “Be careful if you go off the road, my mate’s still in there looking for the deer which I missed.” Yikes! It’s hard enough for me to lug my body up a hill without someone taking shots at me! Luckily I saw them drive past before I set off. Phew!

The route consists of walking up the excellent Hydro Board road to the Lochan Braecliach Dam and reservoir. Parking on the South Loch Tay road is at a premium but there’s space for one car at the gate to the Hydro road at NN584322. It was -5C according to the car, sunny(ish) and the air was wonderfully crisp as I stood in the heavily forested area. There was intermittent snow on the ground here at 150m but the Hydro road was completely white.