A starting question

Hi All
I am new to the amature radio having just got my license last week.
I have spent a lot of time in the hills over the years and often passed SOTA teams working from summits.
I thopught it might be nice to try and make my first QSO a SOTA summit as well.
The problem is I am getting impatient!
I often run/climb in the mountains at night so i am not worried by being out in the dark and Y Wyddfa (GW/NW-001) is close and I know the routes very well.
I have a little kg uvd 1p with the stock antenna so can only work 2m or 70cm.
How long should I plan to be at the summit to make the required 4 activations ? I would probably summit at about 7pm
or is that unlikely to happen ?

In reply to MW6DHN:

I think it depends on what the locals do at that time of night!

I activated Tryfan on 2m using a VX-7 at 2.5 W into a 35cm twig on Sunday afternoon (12:15). It took only 5 minutes for the vital four and then a fifth came along. Three of the five were local and there are lots of others easily within range on the Wirral and Lancs coast.

Ross, MW0BYT replied to my first call; John, GW4ZPL joined in straight away. Then two s2s (unlikely in your scenario) followed by Barry, 2W0LYD. These three are all based within the immediate area.

Also, you are giving away 10 points here so an Alert ought to bring in a bit of a pile-up, presenting you with the problem of when to close and descend.

73 and good luck,
Rod

In reply to MW6DHN:

Try it and see what happens! You sound like someone who is pretty sure footed in the environment. All I’d say is, read the guidelines and advice on the SOTA website and let someone responsible know where you are going and your expected return time.

Take it one step at a time and remember it’s a fun thing (I all too often I forget this and start a personal battle against the ascent/conditions etc…)

Good luck (let us know how it went!!!) and all the best…

Rob G7LAS

In reply to MW6DHN:

Welcome to Amateur radio and SOTA!